top of page

Nightwing #114

5/22/24

Taylor

Redondo

Lucas


I guess I now know what a card stock cover is. An innovation between my last new comic and today unless I'm quite mistaken and an interesting one at that. Like the Wonder Woman from earlier today I was drawn by both this cover art and its character. From my earliest days I've had a very strong attachment to Dick Grayson, my favorite Robin, and one of the first characters upon whom I began spending my high school paychecks. More than once I went as Robin for Halloween, well definitely once- the year that Batman Forever came out and I went Batman-less, plastic chest-piece clad, Boy Wonder- the second costumed instance may be a pair of begged-for pajamas with a yellow velcro cape, but the point stands. And now that I am thinking about it there was also a time as a near-adult when I had a full Nightwing costume as well. This during my amateurish foray into convention cosplay at which I was more enthusiastic than successful. I'm sure there is some manner of psychology in proactively choosing a side-kick to his hero (hardly unique I also prefer Luigi to Mario and Donald to Mickey and these are just the two examples that sprung immediately to mind) but I'd better not pull too forcefully at this thread lest I come completely unravelled. A less threatening brand of wondering is why I never cared much for Batman. Not that I particularly liked or disliked him, rather that, while I thoroughly enjoyed a number of his films, shows, and comics, I have never been emotionally invested in him the way I have with his young ward.

Not to forget the book at hand, this issue luckily picks up as the first of a five issue run. There's a short recap of the death of Dick's family and a dangerous fall he had as a child while he thinks back on these events while hiking in the mountains with his dog. He is apparently dealing with an onset of a fear of heights caused by an event from earlier in the series.

Two weeks earlier, Dick had been attending a charity fundraiser, apparently to duplicate the success he has had in Bludhaven, when someone from the crowd suggests his philanthropic efforts have ties to organized crime. This appears to be the first step in the Masked Villain, with whom I am unfamiliar, ignites what appears to be a personal vendetta against Dick This figure is seen coercing the criminal elements into joining his "Heartless Army" by threatening to tear out the hearts of the unwilling in front of their children.

There is a lot that has changed since my last footsteps in Gotham City. Alfred has since passed, Barbara is no longer wheelchair bound, and Bruce has a son named Damian. This last one I did hear about somewhere along the line...the event must have simply been culturally loud enough to be heard outside of the truly tuned in. The art, inside and out, is good with Damian deserving special mention as Mr. Redondo does a great job of depicting Damian's discomfort with the formality of the charity event through the way he is drawn. A nice homecoming of sorts and enough to reel me in for the five issues of this run if nothing more than to visit some old friends.


Cover: C+

Art: C+

Writing: C

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page