top of page

Wonder Woman #9 Dawn of DC

5/22/24

King

Sampere

Morey


This is my first new comic in perhaps as much as two decades. I don't know what possessed me to stop into the store today other than that the thought struck me just before I remembered that Wednesday was always new comic book day. No shortage of old memories, though the shop itself was sleek, organized, and modern, I really got a kick out of walking along the racks and looking at all of the brand new books that had just been set upon the shelves marked with a bright pink thought-bubble marked "NEW". Eventually I found two books, this and Nightwing #114, almost entirely on account of their appealing covers and my ancient affinities- a strange sensation to be sure.

The art is well done and the tale imaginative. Clearly I've stepped into the middle of something, this being issue #9 of this "Dawn of DC" line of which I clearly know nothing. Diana has been imprisoned and, as a way of coping with the torturous isolation, imagines herself in various scenes with Steve Trevor (I believe). The art is solid and the writing thoughtful and leisurely. There's something to be said for a simple story about the heroism of resilience. A message worth remembering.


Cover: C+

Art: C

Writing: C-

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page